Physics of Rowing

Here is where I intend to publish my modeling of the mechanics of rowing.

Most of what I will publish here is based on a few sources on the web.

  1. Physics of Rowing for the basic equations
  2. Bill Atkinson’s page on modeling the rowing stroke
  3. A MatLab model by Marinus van Holst
  4. Rowing Biomechanics Newsletter by Dr. Valery Kleshnev

Nothing new here, so please move on to one of those links now for some interesting reading.

What I have done is:

  • Created a Phyton/NumPy model based on the equations  by Marinus van Holst
  • Slightly improved Marinus’ model
  • Generate a lot of numerical results
  • Use the model to calculate rower power for rowing world records in various boats and weight categories, and compare these number with available data

Why do I publish this if it’s nothing new? Basically I hope to get some reactions, especially hoping to improve the model, perhaps discover a few discrepancies. Find some people who are also interested in the physics of rowing.

I intend to use this blog to describe my model and the results. I have a family, a job and also spend a lot of time doing the actual rowing, so be patient. It will take time.

3 thoughts on “Physics of Rowing

  1. sanderroosendaal Post author

    Thanks. As I said, slowly but surely I will fill this space with the content.

    Regarding the design, it is a standard one offered by WordPress. The photo on the top of the page is from one of my races this season. Primatorky in Prague (I live in the Czech Republic). I am one of the fellows in that eight. We won the veterans A category.

Comments are closed.